Return of Twinkie: A Comeback Wrapped in Cellophane

american boxing gloveTo be honest, I’ve never eaten a Hostess Twinkie. But I still stop and cheer for Rocky Balboa, another one of America’s most treasured prepackaged items, every time I channel surf right into his seemingly impossible Drago matchup. So I saw Twinkie stumbling under the PR pressure of labor union discontent and I saw it waver from the gluten free right hook. I knew instinctively though, Twinkie might be down but would never be out.

For hundreds of years, even the best marketing geniuses have relied on the classic dilemma of the underdog vs.some Drago for their campaigns. It’s just as American as, well, Twinkies. With the recently announced comeback poised to keep Twinkie selling despite the glossy competition that a dozen quarter-sized Baked By Melissa cupcakes poses, I’d say they’ve found their knock out punch.

Tagged , ,

Share Your Thoughts

